Skip to main content

Messaging and Notifications

GLYPH has all the core messaging features you'd expect in a collaboration application. From formatting your text and sharing files to @mentions and threading, GLYPH ensures seamless and effective communication within your workspace.

Rich Text Editor​

You can control the appearance of your text by using the formatting tools provided:

  • Paragraph and heading size.
  • Bold, italicize, underline and strikethrough.
  • Insert hyperlinks.
  • Upload images and files.
  • Bullet Lists and number lists.
  • Code block, block quotes, subscript and superscript.

The message composer's rich text formatting toolbar

Push Notifications​

Allow push notifications upon first login to receive message notifications in groups you participate in.

Enable Push Notifications prompt shown on first login

To adjust your device notification settings:

  • Chrome, Edge or Firefox: Log in to GLYPH, click the site information icon in the URL bar to view your notification permission settings.
  • macOS Safari: Log in to GLYPH > Go to Safari > Settings > Notifications > Set GLYPH to Allow.

@ Mentions​

  1. Typing @ into the message box will bring up the group member list.
  2. Select a members name, repeat for each member you'd like to mention.
  3. Send your message.

Typing @ brings up the group member list to mention

  • @mentions will notify the member(s) by sending a push notification and highlighting the group in blue text for that member(s).
  • Other group message activity will not send push notifications and will highlight the group in bold white text.
  • Direct Messages will always send a push notification to each participant, even without @mentions

Dismiss New Message Indicator and App Badges​

New messages will highlight your groups:

  • Bold blue for @mentions and direct messages
  • Bold white for other group message activity

To dismiss the new message indicator or app badges:

  • Click into the message field – Selecting the group and clicking in the message input field will send a read receipt, clearing the indicator.
  • Scroll to the latest message – If enough messages have been posted, scrolling to the newest message will also mark them as read and dismiss the indicator.

Personal Notification Settings​

  • You can adjust your group notification settings by going into the Group Settings view.
  • Changes to notification settings will apply to all your participating devices.

Per-group notification settings — Mute, Mentions Only, or All

Message Threads​

Message threads are created when you reply to a specific message:

  • Highlight a message and click the message icon to start a thread.

Hover a message and click the reply icon to start a thread

Deleting Messages​

  • Highlight the message and click the burn icon. Burning a message will delete the message for all participants.

    The Burn Message action removes a message for all participants

  • Highlight the message and click the trash can icon. This will delete the message on this device only.

    The Delete Locally action removes a message from this device only